Skip Navigation

September-October 2016

ResizeResize Text: Original Large XLarge



The sixteenth annual seminar on mineral photography will be held at the sixty-third Tucson Gem and Mineral Show in the Copper Ballroom of the Convention Center on Thursday, 9 February 2017, 1–3 P.M.

Regarding the photo competition, winners will be chosen by a panel of judges and announced the following Saturday evening (11 February) at the awards banquet. A cash prize will be given for first place in each category. The rules are as follows:

  • 1. No more than two entries are allowed per person.

  • 2. Slides must be original 35-mm transparencies in standard 2-inch mounts.

  • 3. Written on each slide must be the mineral name, locality, size, either “macro” or “micro” category, and the photographer's name and postal address.

  • 4. Entries should be mailed to me at the address below, to be received by 15 January 2017, or hand-delivered to me at the Tucson Show. (All entries will be returned.)

  • 5. In addition to slides, digital images as high-resolution JPGs are also accepted and can be emailed to me at the address below. CDs can be mailed to my postal address.


The American Federation of Mineralogical Societies (AFMS) Scholarship Foundation grants for 2015 have been issued to students in the regional federations. Each of the six participating regional federations selects its own Honorary Award Winner who then selects two students and/or schools as recipients. Selected students receive a $4,000 educational grant.

The following are the graduate students receiving grants and the honorees who were chosen to select them.

California Federation: Norvee Enns, past California Federation president, selected Kirsten Saur and Stephen Angster, University of Nevada, Reno.

Eastern Federation: Dr. Scott Hippensteel, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, selected Richard Small and Amanda Stone, University of North Carolina, Charlotte.

Midwest Federation: Prof. Dale Gnidovec, Ohio State University, selected Dale Wright and Celina Cole, Ohio State University.

Northwest Federation: Evelyn Cataldo, past Northwest Federation president, selected Kent Allen and Brian Ostrom, Central Washington State University.

Rocky Mountain Federation: Dr. Brian Tapp, University of Tulsa, selected Whitney R. Campbell and Stacy R. Trowbridge, University of Tulsa.

South Central Federation: Linda J. Simpson selected Ruby Saldana and Elia O. Gil, Texas A & M.          

In this Issue

Taylor & Francis Group

Privacy Policy

© 2018 Taylor & Francis Group · 530 Walnut Street, Suite 850, Philadelphia, PA · 19106