Skip Navigation

May-June 2015

ResizeResize Text: Original Large XLarge



The thirty-seventh annual symposium held in conjunction with the Tucson Gem and Mineral Show® will take place on Saturday, 13 February 2016. The symposium is cosponsored by the Tucson Gem and Mineral Society, the Friends of Mineralogy, and the Mineralogical Society of America. As a tie-in with the show, the symposium theme is the same as the show theme: Shades of Blue: Minerals of the World. Presentations on descriptive mineralogy, classic and new localities, and related subjects are welcome. An audience of amateur and professional mineralogists and geologists is expected.

Anyone wanting to present a paper should submit a 200–300-word abstract to Julian C. Gray, Rice Northwest Museum of Rocks and Minerals, 26385 NW Groveland Dr., Hillsboro, OR 97124; Presentations will be twenty minutes in length. Abstracts must be submitted by 31 August 2015.


Since 1999, the A. E. Seaman Mineral Museum has recognized individuals for excellence in earth science education with the Charles A. Salotti Earth Science Education Award. The museum now has a new partner in selecting the awardee: the Michigan Earth Science Teachers Association (MESTA). In addition to selecting the awardee, MESTA is promoting the Salotti Award and soliciting nominations.

The award now focuses on recognizing excellence in informal earth science education and/or mentoring. Informal approaches to earth science education include exposing students to experiences outside the classroom setting through field trips, field-based explorations/projects, creation of exhibitions, museum-based exploration/projects, weekend workshops, and extramural clubs. The mentoring aspect of the award focuses on the positive impact that mentors have both on students, such as helping them to think about careers in earth science, and on other educators, such as professional development.

Support for the Salotti Award is provided by the Edith Dunn and E. William Heinrich Mineralogical Research Trust, the A. E. Seaman Mineral Museum, and the family of the late Charles A. Salotti. Past recipients of the award include James R. Luoma (1999), F. John Barlow (2000), Dr. George W. Robinson (2001), Jean Petermann Kemp Zimmer (2002), Walter S. Lombardo (2003), Dr. Eugene LaBerge (2004), Dr. William B. “Skip” Simmons (2005), Dr. Robert B. Cook (2006), Stanley J. Dyl II (2007), Gary Richards (2008), Tom Rosemeyer (2009), John S. White (2010), Anthony “Tony” Nikischer (2011), Dr. Joanne Kluessendorf (2012), and Dr. Wayne W. Sukow (2013).

For more information about MESTA and the award, visit the MESTA Awards and Grants website,


In this Issue

Taylor & Francis Group

Privacy Policy

© 2018 Taylor & Francis Group · 530 Walnut Street, Suite 850, Philadelphia, PA · 19106